{Renditions & Experiments}

I hope everyone is having a fabulous Wednesday!  It’s Hump Day, y’all!  Get excited!

 

After an exhausting week of Christmas Village insanity, I’ve come back to a pile of orders in the studio!  (Which is great considering the orders didn’t exactly “pile up” at Christmas Village – haha).  I’ve actually managed to get nearly 10 orders shipped out since Monday and I gotta say, I’m pretty proud of that accomplishment.

 

One project that I had been waiting to work on was a journal for my friend Erin.  This girl LOVES owls and had asked me to make her a journal with an owl on it in some form or fashion.  I had been thinking of how I would assemble the journal, what sort of binding I would use and, most importantly, how I would design the cover.  I had a couple of owl graphics but was dying to use a patchwork graphic I had purchased on Etsy.

I decided to work on this today since I had gotten pretty well caught up on other orders and, well…made quite an ambitious project out of what could’ve been pretty simple. (go figure…)  I decided I would do a fabric covering that wrapped around the pages (rather than just a front and back cover with a spine).  I figured I would lace the pages straight into the  cover for an easy binding.  Well THEN I decided that I would use some faux leather I have…I love, love, love this fabric, but was now beginning to think that this may be a bit more difficult than I had anticipated.  I decided to line the leather with a pale green fabric on the inside which ALSO turned out to be…uh…interesting.  (Note: HeatBond No Sew tape is not the best solution when creating a seam on a two sided leather cover….).  SO, I ended up hand stitching nearly the entire thing.  It was quite the adventure, I must say.  Then I realized that I still needed to get that little owl graphic on there and decided I would try an iron-on transfer method.  WELLLLLLL….the leather melts. ha.  (I was smart enough to use a tester piece – not the ACTUAL cover).  I then realized I would need to make a patch and hand-stitch that onto the cover as well.

After a couple of hours…if FINALLY came together.  I actually really, really love how it turned out and I hope Erin loves it, too!

 

YIPEEEEE!!  What do ya think?

 

On another note, I recently received an email request for Christmas Cards featuring family photos.  I know that’s a big thing, but I had not really taken the time to do any design work until yesterday.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far – and I’m SUPER pumped to potentially use one of these for our OWN Christmas Cards.

I still have work to do – I’m trying to play around with a few more designs.  I hope to have 5 by the weekend!  If you’d like to order some for yourself, you’ll need to do so by November 20th in order to get them in time to send out for the holidays!  Just email me with the subject heading “Christmas Card Order for: your name”  In the message, just let me know which design you’d like, what color, how many and be sure to attached the photo you’d like to use.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

