{New Waters}

Recently, a friend of mine asked me to make him a journal.  He is preparing for an exciting journey across the country, exploring various farms and growing techniques and asked if I could make him a leather journal in which to record his adventures and findings.  I told him I’d never worked with materials other than paper, really – but that I would TOTALLY love the chance to test out these new waters.

I didn’t end up using REAL leather (because that’s just crazy expensive).  But I found this beautiful chocolate-colored vinyl to make his journal.  I also decided to pick up some other material to experiment with while I was there.  I bought a lighter, caramel-colored vinyl that has a raised-dot texture to it.  It was beautiful!  (And on the sale rack! YES!!!!)  After making Tom’s journal (which was totally trial-and-error and an experience from which I learned what to do and what NOT to do), I decided to make a larger and less time-consuming journal from my new “Ostrich Peanut Brittle” vinyl.  Here’s the result (and I am SO pleased with the outcome):

I hope you like this journal as much as I do!!!  I think this is going to be one of those creations that I’ll be sad to send off…ha  you can purchase it here: http://www.etsy.com/listing/67565968/caramel-peanut-brittle-journal-leather

Leave a Reply

