“These are a few of my favorite things…”

When it comes to materials, I use quite a variety of things.  But I figured I’d feature just a couple of them in this post.

The first is the classic brown paper sack.  Though it rarely gets used anymore, (unless you ask for it at the supermarket or purchase an alcoholic beverage at a crummy package store) I often request them just so I can use the raw flecked paper later on!  I typically use the bags to make custom envelopes.  The material is perfect for this use: it’s heavy-duty so it can definitely hold its own in the rough and tumble process of mail delivery and it’s got a great vintage look that creates a unique aesthetic.  It’s environmentally friendly and a TOTALLY fun recyclable material to work with!

One of my other favorite elements to incorporate is graph paper.  I know for many, graph paper brings back horrible memories of agonizing geometry tests and school days that some of us would rather forget.  However, as a math-lover and softy for school supplies, I am drawn to the symmetry of the crisp blue lines and love the simple pattern it adds to a design.  It can be used in so many ways and it’s easy to come by!

What are some of your favorite materials to work with?

Leave a Reply

